de

ar

fa

Europe-wide councils and communities facing the challenge to house refugees appropriate and in a human way. But far too often many of them who arrive alone or with their families need to stay in abandoned caserns or gyms. As being citizens of second class there is neither the possibility to participate in the everyday life of the society nor to create their surroundings actively.
Facing these facts the network of Refugees for Co-Creative Cities decided to join forces. Initiatives from Oberhausen, Helsinki, Ljubljana and other european cities searching for strategies to improve the ways of participation of refugees, to exchange experiences and making them accessible to others. Their goal is to proactively look for new ways of a more respectful interaction and support in order to enable refugees to take part in social and creative processes in their new living environment and to help them integrate themselves into the local society. Through common processes, they can contribute something to the city as in the same time strengthen their self-confidence.

The thought behind Co-Creating is that many voices can shout louder than a single one and that diversity and different perspectives give great additional values to a project. Co-Creating isn´t just the key to understand each other in a better way. It is rather the way to build a corporate feeling within a group. Because everyone has their own part in this but working together: Refugees, other disadvantaged population groups and everybody who belongs to the society and is interested in a peaceful living together and livable environment. Therefore are any ideas, suggestions and contributions from different sides more than welcome – including citizens, activists, city makers, politicians and so on.
As one of the first projects kitev renovates together with refugees and engaged citizens of Oberhausen a high-rise building in the city centre and is willing to create a self-organized living among the inhabitants. There lies huge potential of use in the abandoned shop on the ground floor as well as some apartments in the upper floors of the building. The current inhabitants should get involved into the projects as much as encouraged to participate.

The kick-off for all activities inside the high rise was the conference „Mehr [als] Wohnraum“ in cooperation with StadtBauKultur NRW in July 2016. From the 6th until the 10th of September 2016 a Co-Creation Festival will take place which is organised by Interkultur Ruhr and kitev and should create the ground to build, discuss and plan further. This event is part of the project „New ideas for old buildings“ which will develop new strategies to reactivate disregarded buildings in order to upvalue quarters in an architectural and social matter.

en

ar

fa

Europaweit stehen Kommunen vor der Herausforderung, Flüchtlinge angemessen aufzunehmen. Viel zu häufig aber werden die Menschen, die allein oder mit ihren Familien ankommen in provisorischen Unterkünften, in Turnhallen, Kasernen usw. untergebracht. Als „Bürger zweiter Klasse“ haben sie kaum eine Möglichkeit, am gesellschaftlichen Leben teilzunehmen oder ihre physische Umgebung mitzugestalten.
Vor diesem Hintergrund hat sich das Netzwerk Refugees for Co-Creative Cities zusammengeschlossen. Initiativen aus Oberhausen, Helsinki, Ljubljana und anderen europäischen Städten wollen gemeinsam nach Strategien zur Teilhabe von Geflüchteten suchen, ihre Erfahrungen austauschen und anderen zugänglich machen. Ihr Ziel ist es, proaktiv nach Wegen zu suchen, die eine respektvollere, sinnvolle Interaktion und Betreuung anbieten, und die es den Flüchtlingen ermöglichen, sich selbst kreativ einzubringen, an sozialen und gestalterischen Prozessen in ihrem neuen Lebensumfeld teilzuhaben und sich in die lokale Gesellschaft zu integrieren.
So können sie einen gesellschaftlichen Beitrag leisten und zugleich ihr Selbstvertrauen stärken. Hinter Co-Creating steht die Vorstellung, dass viele Stimmen mehr erreichen können als eine einzige und dass Vielfalt und unterschiedliche Perspektiven einen großen Mehrwert für ein Projekt mit sich bringen.
Co-Creating ist nicht nur der Schlüssel, um einander besser zu verstehen, es ist auch ein Weg zur Gemeinschaftsbildung. Denn alle arbeiten gemeinsam: Flüchtlinge, weitere benachteiligte Bevölkerungsgruppen und alle, die Teil der Gesellschaft sind und sich für ein gutes Miteinander und ein lebenswertes Umfeld einsetzen wollen. Deshalb sind Teilnehmer, Beiträge und Ideen von verschiedensten Seiten willkommen– von Stadtbewohnern, Aktivisten, Stadtplanern, Politikern usw. Als eines der Pilotprojekte will kitev gemeinsam mit Flüchtlingen und engagierten Oberhausenern ein Hochhaus im Stadtzentrum renovieren und ein gemeinsames eigenverantwortliches Innenleben katalysieren. Das leerstehende Ladenlokal im Erdgeschoss bietet viel Potenzial für neue Nutzungen, aber auch einige verwaiste Wohnungen warten auf kreative Ideen. Die verbliebenen Bewohner des Hauses sollen in das Gemeinschaftsprojekt eingebunden und zur Mitwirkung motiviert werden.

Auftakt für die Aktivitäten im Hochhaus war die Konferenz „Mehr [als] Wohnraum“ in Kooperation mit StadtBauKultur NRW im Juli 2016. Vom 06. bis 09. September 2016 findet in Zusammenarbeit mit Interkultur Ruhr ein Co-Creation Festival statt, bei dem weitergeplant, gebaut und diskutiert wird. Die Aktion ist zugleich Teil des Projektes „New ideas for old buildings“, in dem es um kreative Strategien zur Reaktivierung vernachlässigter Gebäude geht, mit dem Ziel einer architektonischen und sozialen Aufwertung auf Quartiersebene.